選擇控制閥的

由克里斯·帕斯洛:

調節控制閥的選型不同的建築服務的應用程序是有問題的,因為它屬於笨拙的設計師之間, 安裝商和設備供應商. 新BSRIA指南BG 51/2014 在變流量系統中選用控制閥的 介紹了閥門可供選擇,以及如何作出適當的選擇.

因為更好的控制就可以實現了熱傳遞流量控制是很重要的, 更好的控制,我們將擁有系統的工作溫度. 加熱或冷卻輸出控制不良轉化為在太空中的溫度波動較大. 此外, (而常常被忽視) 控制不良會導致失控的回水溫度,以中央工廠. 如果我們試圖以最大限度地提高系統的溫度差來得到鍋爐或冷水機組的最佳性能, 然後控制閥不控制是一個問題.

為了使任何閥,以提供良好的調節控制, 其特性必須與它正在試圖控制傳熱的. 例如, 如果有流量和傳熱之間的比例關係則閥的特性還應該正比 (或線性) 即. 通過閥為關閉的給定程度的流量變化應該是相同的閉合程度. 比例型的特點是適合於水到水熱交換器例如板式熱交換器.

對於強制對流的水與空氣熱交換, 如風機盤管, 活動橫梁和空氣處理機組, 在大壓下流量要求,以實現少量減少傳熱. 故, 對於這些應用, 線性特性不理想. 而不是等百分比特性是最好的. 這些閥是所謂的,因為改變的百分比流量始終是相同的對於給定的百分比變化在閥開.

一閥的特點是由裝在內部閥座和閥芯的安排結合電動執行器的組合影響. 正確的閥和致動器組合,以便實現正確的特性選擇的是必不可少.

然而, 該閥的供應商不能總是保證閥門將提供預期的性能. 這依賴於在閥位於系統和跨在它被控制流的電路的相對壓力損失. 這裡主要介紹的閥權的棘手問題. 用簡單的術語, 閥門和執行器的組合可能會被設計給你指定的特徵,但是,如果你在一個電路,它安裝在其中,通過閥門的阻力相對於電路的其餘部分小, 那麼就不會起到預期的. 閥門的關閉一定程度就會被用完只是想趕上在電路中的其他電阻. 只有當閥門處於電路的最大阻力將它開始影響流.

因此,閥權被定義為跨越相對全開控制閥兩端的其它組件中的電路中的壓力損失,壓力損失. 傳統的觀點是,控制閥應至少等於在控制電路的其餘部分中的壓力損失得到的最小權 0.5 即. 橫跨閥通過在閥和其它部件的損失除以包括閥本身的損耗.

故, 調節閥的選擇是在此基礎上提出. 對於三,四口閥門凡而閥門通過旁通流量轉移, 閥的選擇是相對簡單的. 在其中流動的控制電路是通過線圈自身所以只有壓力損失是線圈的壓力損失. 這意味著,在完全打開閥的壓力損失只需要通過它,以便有良好的權限控制線圈相匹配的壓力損失. 對於這些閥線圈製造商可以很容易地選擇閥門.

然而, 2端口控制閥是一個更大的挑戰,因為控制電路包括所有管道和部件返回到最近的固定壓力點的適當位置DPCV這是兩種泵. 為了滿足所有這些電阻, 2通閥也必須有較高的電阻. 這也意味著,在線圈製造商不能尺寸的閥. 具有所有適當的壓力損失信息的唯一一方是設計師. 但是大小閥門是複雜的,最適合一個電腦計算.

壓力獨立控制閥提供了部分解決閥門的選型,因為他們結合了兩個端口控制閥與DPCV. 因此,通過控制閥的壓力損失被固定賦予它一個理論上的權威. 然而, PICVs有其局限性,限制了最小流量控制特性方面. 超低流量可能是一個問題,並實現平等的百分比特性可以是一個挑戰. 此外, 流量重複性問題比較明顯的閥門在彈簧的彎曲回复.

新BSRIA提供了一定的了解所有這些問題,應該是有幫助的,以從事閥門選型的所有工程師.

克里斯·帕斯洛 (帕斯洛諮詢有限公司) is the author of CIBSE Commissioning Code W 2010, BSRIA BG2/2010調試水系統, 和BG BSRIA 29/2012 Pre-commission Cleaning of Pipework Systems.

Selection of Control Valves

By Chris Parsloe:

Modulating control valve selection for different building services applications can be problematic since it falls awkwardly between designers, installers and equipment suppliers. The new BSRIA guide BG 51/2014 Selection of Control Valves in Variable Flow Systems describes the valve options available and how to make appropriate selections.  

Flow control is important because the better control we can achieve over heat transfer, the better control we will have over system operating temperatures. Poor control of heating or cooling outputs translates to larger swings in space temperatures. Furthermore, (and often overlooked) poor control will result in uncontrolled return water temperatures to central plant. If we are trying to maximise the system temperature differential in order to get the best performance from boilers or chillers, then a control valve that does not control is a problem.

In order for any valve to provide good modulating control, its characteristic must match that of the heat transfer that it is trying to control. For example, if there is a proportional relationship between flow rate and heat transfer then the valve’s characteristic should also be proportional (or linear) i.e. the change in flow rate through the valve for a given degree of closure should be the same as the degree of closure. A proportional characteristic is suitable for water to water heat exchangers such as plate heat exchangers.

For forced convection water to air heat transfer, such as fan coil units, active beams and air handling units, a large reduction in flow rate is required in order to achieve a small reduction in heat transfer. Hence, for these applications, a linear characteristic is not ideal. Instead an equal percentage characteristic is best. These valves are so-called because the percentage change in flow rate is always the same for a given percentage change in valve opening.

A valve’s characteristic is influenced by a combination of the internal valve seat and plug arrangement combined with the electronic actuator that is fitted. It is essential that the correct valve and actuator combination is selected in order to achieve the correct characteristic.

However, the valve supplier cannot always ensure that the valve will deliver the characteristic intended. This depends on where the valve is located in the system and the relative pressure losses across the circuits in which it is controlling flow. This introduces the tricky issue of valve authority. In simple terms, a valve and actuator combination might be designed to give you the specified characteristic but if you install it in a circuit for which the resistance across the valve is small relative to the rest of the circuit, then it will not function as intended. Some degree of the valve’s closure will be used up just trying to catch up with the other resistances in the circuit. Only when the valve is the biggest resistance in the circuit will it start to influence flow.

Valve authority is therefore defined as the pressure loss across the fully open control valve relative to pressure losses across the other components in the circuit. Conventional wisdom is that the control valve should be at least equal to the pressure losses in the rest of the controlled circuit giving a minimum authority of 0.5 i.e. the loss across the valve divided by the losses across valve and other components including the valve itself.

Hence, control valve selections are made on this basis. For three and four port valves where the valve diverts flow through a by-pass, valve selection is relatively straight forward. The circuit in which flow is controlled is that through the coil itself so the only pressure loss is the coil pressure loss. This means that the fully open valve pressure loss only needs to match the pressure loss through the coil it controls in order to have good authority. For these valves the coil manufacturer can easily select the valves.

However, two port control valves are more of a challenge since the controlled circuit comprises all pipes and components back to the nearest fixed pressure point this being either the pump of an appropriately located DPCV. To match all of these resistances, two port valves also have to have higher resistances. It also means that the coil manufacturer cannot size the valve. The only party that has all of the appropriate pressure loss information is the designer. But sizing the valves is complicated and best suited to a computerised calculation.

Pressure independent control valves have provided a partial solution to valve selection since they combine a two port control valve with a DPCV. Hence the pressure loss across the control valve is fixed giving it the theoretical authority of one. However, PICVs have their limitations in terms of limiting minimum flow rates and control characteristics. Ultra low flow rates can be a problem and the achievement of an equal percentage characteristic can be a challenge. Furthermore, flow repeatability issues are more noticeable as the valves reply on the flexing of a spring.

The new BSRIA provides some understanding on all of these issues and should be helpful to all engineers involved in valve selection.

Chris Parsloe (Parsloe Consulting Ltd) is the author of CIBSE Commissioning Code W 2010, BSRIA BG2/2010 Commissioning Water Systems, and BSRIA BG 29/2012 Pre-commission Cleaning of Pipework Systems.  

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on LinkedInEmail this to someone