超低流量處理

由克里斯·帕斯洛:

在過去的日子裡漏, 絕緣欠佳的樓宇高額保證熱負荷與掌控的高流速. 我的意思是說流量是:

一) 可測量由標準流量測量裝置, 和

b) 足夠高以避免空氣或灰塵沉降.

CIBSE指南B1的先前版本建議的最低速度在0.75米/ s的管材的尺寸可達50mm, 和1.25米/秒,如果大超過50mm. 這些值然後轉交其他CIBSE和BSRIA刊物上管道系統的設計.

儘管這樣中肯的意見, 這樣的最小流速值現在經常忽略的設計師, 特別是對於管道輸送到終端設備. 原因在於,我們的終端指定流量遠低於他們曾經是. 正如上面暗示, 原因之一就在於, 由於改變建築物規例, 我們的建築需要更少的加熱輸入比他們曾經做過. 因此,熱發射體和它們所需要的流速的大小是低級.

此外, 出現了增加,由設計師指定的設計溫差 (即. 該三角洲T). 而舊的系統被設計在11℃,三角洲T, 新的系統通常被設計為 20 或30°C. 這是因為許多低碳熱源, 如生物質鍋爐或熱電聯產系統, 與回水溫度盡可能低有更好的表現. 高三角洲T值導致低流速.

這不是一個問題,主支管可能下降,由發言權 50 到40毫米大小, 但仍然可以選擇給一個實現合理的速度和可測量的流速. 然而, 存在這樣的問題,當涉及到管供電端子單元. 一開始, 可以由節流孔類型的流量測量裝置測量的最小流趨向於在範圍 0.01 至 0.015 升/秒, 這取決於你選擇哪個設備上. 任何流率,即低於該範圍將是測量困難的,如果不是不可能的.

此外, 如果終端設備的連接採用15mm鋼或銅製成管, 那麼0.75米/ s的老速度極限會在大訂單抵觸 (的流 0.015 在15mm的管子每秒升將有唯一0.11米/ s的速度). 一個解決辦法是使用更小的孔管. 銅可在10mm直徑, 並將其用於低流量會明顯增加速度. 然而, 有磁阻因為10毫米銅是柔性的和, 如果錯誤處理, 可以很容易地扭結可能阻塞管道. 因此,在安裝和隱藏了這麼多靈活的銅管在商業樓宇的想法是眾多設計師和安裝人員關注的問題. (我想在這裡提一提,管解決方案,如多層管也許是不那麼“kinkable”在較小的尺寸, 但都需要小心處理。)

與所有這樣的設計難題, 如果不解決, 調試過程中的問題變得很明顯. 安裝承包商和調試專家都面臨著與流速的系統無法測量, 並與顯示,由於持續的結算終端支管永久髒水.

CIBSE調試代碼W 2010 和BSRIA指南BG 2/2010 和BG29/2011也水漲船高承認和解決問題的一些方法. 委託導遊現在具體提及“超低流量”,並定義這些作為任何流量小於0.015litres/sec. 為調試系統的超低流速替代允許的選項包括:

  • 超低流量調節到由溫度平衡方法的任何類型的終端單元的 (作為普遍適用於散熱器系統) 據此,流量調節,直到從終端返回的溫度是±3°C範圍內;
  • 通過流量測量的一個簡易的方法,例如,跨一個固定電阻的使用壓力抽頭的諸如控制閥;
  • 臨時增加終端分支流速 (通過節流其他分支) 直到可測量流速達到;
  • 通過流量測量的“減法”,由此通過端分支的流量是通過測量在主支路中流動的減少,當該終端被關閉確定.

對於灰塵沉降, 該BSRIA預佣金清潔指南 (BG29/2011) 現在認識到,灰塵沉降可能是不可避免的終端支管,因此評估系統的清潔度時,懸浮物和沉澱固體之間的區別.

這些新的建議應該有希望使設計人員和安裝人員在切換以達到對系統的接受協議,沒有過多的辯論. 在所有導致這些建議的討論, 有與會者一致認為,人為地提高設計流速是不能接受的. 這種做法會降低低碳熱源的能源效率及提高泵的能源消耗.

克里斯·帕斯洛 (帕斯洛諮詢有限公司) is the author of CIBSE Commissioning Code W 2010, BSRIA BG2/2010調試水系統, 和BG BSRIA 29/2012 Pre-commission Cleaning of Pipework Systems.

Dealing with ultra low flow rates

By Chris Parsloe:

In past days leaky, poorly insulated buildings ensured hefty heating loads with manageably high flow rates. By this I mean that flows would be:

 a)      measureable by standard flow measurement devices, and

b)      high enough to avoid air or dirt settlement.

 Previous editions of CIBSE Guide B1 recommended minimum velocities in pipes of 0.75m/s for sizes up to 50mm, and 1.25m/s if larger than 50mm. These values were then referred to in other CIBSE and BSRIA publications on pipe system design.

Despite this sound advice, such minimum flow velocity values are now routinely ignored by designers, particularly for pipes feeding to terminal units. The reason is that the flows we specify for terminals are much lower than they used to be. As implied above, one reason for this is that, due to changes in the Building Regulations, our buildings require less heating input than they once did. Therefore the size of heat emitters and the flow rates they require are lower.

In addition, there has been an increase in the design temperature differentials specified by designers (i.e. the delta T). Whereas older systems were designed on a delta T of 11°C, new systems are typically being designed for 20 or 30°C. This is because many low carbon heat sources, such as biomass boilers or CHP systems, perform better with return temperatures as low as possible. High delta T values result in low flow rates.

This is not a problem for main branch pipes which might drop from say 50 to 40mm in size, but can still be selected to give a achieve a reasonable velocity and a measureable flow rate. However, there is an issue when it comes to pipes feeding terminal units.   For a start, the minimum flow that can be measured by orifice type flow measurement devices tends to be in the range 0.01 to 0.015 litres/sec, depending on which device you choose. Any flow rate that is below this range is going to be difficult if not impossible to measure.

Furthermore, if terminal unit connections are made in 15mm steel or copper pipe, then the old velocity limit of 0.75m/s will be contravened in large order (a flow of 0.015 litres per second in a 15mm pipe would have a velocity of only 0.11m/s). One solution would be to use smaller bore pipes. Copper is available at 10mm diameter, and its use for low flows would obviously increase velocity. However, there is reluctance because 10mm copper is flexible and, if wrongly handled, can easily kink potentially blocking the pipe. The thought of installing and hiding so much flexible copper pipe in commercial buildings is therefore a concern amongst designers and installers. (I would mention here that pipe solutions such as multi-layer pipe are perhaps less “kinkable” at smaller sizes, but all need to be handled with care.)

As with all such design conundrums, if not resolved, the problems become apparent during commissioning. The installing contractor and commissioning specialist are faced with a system with flow rates that cannot be measured, and with water that appears permanently dirty due to ongoing settlement in terminal branch pipes.

CIBSE Commissioning Code W 2010 and BSRIA Guides BG 2/2010 and BG29/2011 have gone some way towards recognising and addressing the problems. The commissioning guides now make specific reference to “ultra low flow rates” and define these as any flow rate less than 0.015litres/sec. Alternative permissible options for commissioning systems with ultra low flow rates include:

  • regulating ultra low flows to any type of terminal unit by the temperature balance method (as commonly applied to radiator systems) whereby flows are adjusted until the return temperatures from the terminals are within a ±3°C range;
  • adopting an improvised method of flow measurement such as the use of pressure tappings across a fixed resistance such as a control valve;
  • temporarily increasing terminal branch flow rates (by throttling other branches) until measureable flow rates are achieved;
  • adopting the “subtraction method” of flow measurement whereby the flow through a terminal branch is determined by measuring the reduction in flow at the main branch when that terminal is closed.

With regard to dirt settlement, the BSRIA Pre-commission Cleaning Guide (BG29/2011) now recognises that dirt settlement may be inevitable in terminal branch pipes and therefore differentiates between suspended solids and settled solids when assessing system cleanliness.

These new recommendations should hopefully enable designers and installers to reach agreement on system acceptability at handover without excessive debate. In all the discussions leading to these recommendations, there was agreement that artificially increasing design flow rates was not acceptable. Such an approach would reduce the energy efficiency of low carbon heat sources and increase pump energy consumption.

Chris Parsloe (Parsloe Consulting Ltd) is the author of CIBSE Commissioning Code W 2010, BSRIA BG2/2010 Commissioning Water Systems, and BSRIA BG 29/2012 Pre-commission Cleaning of Pipework Systems.  

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on LinkedInEmail this to someone